Nagpur Latest News

BJP claims victory in Gram Panchayat elections in Nagpur district

Elections were held in 7,751 gram panchayats across the state on Sunday.

Nagpur: While the official data for the Gram Panchayat elections was awaited at the time of filing this report, Political parties have also started presenting claims on the basis of ground reports from their party workers in all rural areas.

bjp claims victory

BJP’s Nagpur (rural) president Arvind Gajbhiye also said, “Out of 236 gram panchayats where elections were held, BJP and allied panels have secured sarpanch posts in 131.”

This time the state government has decided to conduct direct Sarpanch elections. Elections were held in 7,751 gram panchayats across the state on Sunday.

At the state level also, BJP has claimed to have got the mandate. Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis said, “BJP and Balasahebanchi Shiv Sena have got tremendous response from the people. Our sarpanchs have been elected in 3,029 gram panchayats. Whatever work we are doing under the leadership of PM Narendra Modi has been appreciated by the voters. I would also like to congratulate our party’s State President Chandrashekhar Bawankule. He worked hard for success.”

BJP has not been able to perform as per expectation

In Nagpur’s Hingna taluka, the BJP claims to have done ‘extremely’ very well. Sameer Meghe, BJP MLA from Hingna also said, “Out of 22 sarpanch posts here, we have won 14, including some very difficult seats.” The BJP has claimed to do well in Ramtek, the assembly constituency of Ashish Jaiswal, an independent candidate supporting the Shinde faction. BJP’s Gajbhiye said, ‘Out of 43 sarpanch seats in Ramtek, our candidates have won 21. If we talk about election of GP members, we have won 140 out of 381 seats.”

In Kamathi assembly constituency, the former fiefdom of Bawankule, the party claimed to have won 27 out of 40 sarpanch posts. The BJP has also claimed to have made a dent in Saoner assembly constituency, the bastion of Congress leader Sunil Kedar. BJP leaders have also said that they have secured 30 out of 59 sarpanch posts here. In the Umred assembly constituency, where Raju Parve of Congress is also the sitting MLA, BJP has not been able to perform as per expectation, its leaders said.

Also Read: Uddhav Thackeray likely to join council today

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button