Nagpur Latest News

Bharatiya Janata Party wins Konkan seat, party-backed candidate loses in Devendra Fadnavis’ home turf Nagpur

The candidate Sudhakar Adbale won the Nagpur teachers' constituency with the support of the opposition.

Mumbai: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Dnyaneshwar Mhatre registered his resounding victory in the Maharashtra Legislative Council’s Konkan Division teacher’s constituency election on Thursday. While the candidate supported by the saffron outfit suffered a crushing defeat at the hands of the opposition Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) in the Nagpur division teacher seat.

bjp wins konkan seat

Also, the candidate Sudhakar Adbale won the Nagpur teachers’ constituency with the support of the opposition. He soundly defeated his nearest rival Nagorao Gunnar, a Bharatiya Janata Party-backed independent and the sitting MLC from the seat.

Nagpur is also the home district of Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and Union Minister Nitin Gadkari. And the counting of votes for these three other seats – Aurangabad division teacher’s constituency and Amravati and Nashik division graduate segment – was also underway.

Voting for the biennial election for all the five seats in the upper house of the legislature took place on January 30 and the counting of votes began in the wee hours of Thursday.

Dnyaneshwar Mhatre, the Bharatiya Janata Party candidate backed by Chief Minister Eknath Shinde-led Balasahebchi Shiv Sena, won the Konkan Teachers’ constituency by defeating Maha Vikas Aghadi-backed candidate Balram Patil.

Six-year terms of five council members

Returning Officer and Divisional Commissioner Mahendra Kalyankar, who announced the results of Konkan Teachers constituency after counting of votes in Navi Mumbai, also said that Dnyaneshwar Mhatre got 20,683 votes, While Balaram Patil got around 10,997 votes. Though there were around eight candidates in the fray, the main contest was also between Dnyaneshwar Mhatre and Balaram Patil.

The Konkan Teachers’ constituency also includes Raigad, Palghar, Thane, Ratnagiri and Sindhudurg districts. The highest polling of 91.02 percent was recorded in this block.

The Maha Vikas Aghadi also includes the Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray), the Congress, and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). In Aurangabad teachers constituency, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate Vikram Kale is leading even after the first round of counting.

The six-year terms of about five council members – three from teachers and two from graduate constituencies – are due to expire on February 7. And the polling was done to fill the upcoming vacancies. Teachers and graduates have also well fulfilled certain criteria and enrolled as voters also constitute the electoral college for these elections.

Also Read: Extortion mastermind’s aide tried to dupe even a governor

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button