Nagpur Latest News

City Congress, NCP leaders unhappy with Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi entering fray

Since the VBA is not part of the MVA coalition, it has absolutely no obligation to abstain from contesting in these elections

Nagpur: However, no Congress and NCP leader of the city is ready to say this officially at all. There is palpable unhappiness over the Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA) fielding candidates for the upcoming MLC elections (teachers’ constituency). And the discontent is not with the Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi, but with the Shiv Sena (UBT), the new ally of both these parties.

City Congress NCP leaders

A Congress politician also said, “The Shiv Sena (UBT) is also part of the Maha Vikas Aghadi, and in Nagpur, this alliance has fielded Sudhakar Adable as well. Right now, is it not the moral duty of Shiv Sena to forbid its new partner Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi from fielding a candidate from here.”

Since the VBA is not part of the MVA coalition at all, it has absolutely no obligation to abstain from contesting in these elections. The same leader also said, “But Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi is indirectly contesting elections against Shiv Sena itself. And also Adabale is the MVA candidate, which means he is the Shiv Sena candidate.”

Voting is going to be held on January 30

An NCP leader active in local politics also said on this, could be ‘payback’ from Shiv Sena. “Earlier, Gangadhar Nakade was the candidate supported by Shiv Sena. But then the whole alliance decided that Gangadhar Nakade might not be the best option, and he withdrew his nomination at the last minute,” said the leader.

It was also widely rumored in political circles that Congress leaders were downright unhappy with Gangadhar Nakade’s candidature, and he has pretty much forced the party’s high command to reconsider. Ultimately, the Shiv Sena high command has also accepted defeat and asked its candidate to withdraw as well.

Undoubtedly, this incident was very embarrassing for Shiv Sena and its workers. “Because of this, it also seems that he has not bothered much about disowning his new ally,” the NCP leader said.

The voting is going to be held on the date of January 30 and the counting of votes is to be done on the date of February 2. There are going to be around 215 polling stations in the Nagpur division where around 39,406 voters are registered. Of this, the number of registered voters in Nagpur district is just over 16,000.

Also Read: NMC gets EC nod to carry out Rs190cr infra works for G20 meet

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button